CBD Pt. 1

Image result for cbd

Cannabidiol (CBD)

Cannabidol (CBD) bears a name that might conjure up visions of Cannabis. While CBD has historically been linked with clandestine marijuana activities, CBD’s physiological actions are quite different than the psychoactive Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) that gets users stoned. CBD is actually one of over 100 cannabinoids found in hemp, making up around 40% of its extract.

Touted as a cure-all by some, CBD’s actual medicinal properties are not let fully realized. Summarized below are some of the more well-known effects of CBD.

Use

Physiological Effect

Anticonvulsant Suppresses seizure activity
Antipsychotic Combats psychosis disorders
Anti-inflammatory Combats inflammatory disorders
Anti-oxidant Combats neurodegenerative disorders
Anti-tumoral/Anti-cancer Combats tumor and cancer cells
Anxiolytic/Anti-depressant Combats anxiety and depression disorders
Antiemetic Reduces nausea and vomiting
Analgesic Combats pain and pain-related disorders

Let’s also cut through the hippie BS about CBD having no side effects. Yes, it’s natural, but that doesn’t tell us anything about its side effect profile. I would argue that it has much milder (and fewer) side effects than many common pharmaceuticals, but saying that they are non-existent is deceitful. At this point, most information is anecdotal.

Common CBD Side Effects

  • Sleepiness
  • Change in appetite
  • Diarrhea

The legality of CBD varies widely by region, with some areas considering the plant a scheduled substance, and others categorizing it as medicine. There’s been a substantial conservative backlash to all marijuana-based therapies over the years. It’s always been a mystery to me why right-wing, faith-based groups actively fight against a plant putatively created by their god, but, I digress.

I became interested in CBD for a variety of reasons. First of all, there have been PSSD reports of CBD helping symptoms. Secondly, there is a large online community of people claiming that it works wonders for OCD / Depression / Anxiety. In the coming posts I’ll be analyzing the pharmacology of CBD, but today I just wanted to give an introduction.

I try to practice what I preach. That’s why I ordered CBD oil a few weeks ago. When it arrived last week I wasted no time testing the new substance. I opted for a method that I wouldn’t usually be drawn to: vaping. What enticed me about vaping CBD is that the effects would come and go quickly. I wanted to be able to compare before and after how I felt in terms of mental health and PSSD.

I’ve been smoking CBD while writing this entire logging.

A few minutes in everything starts to slow. A peace falls over the world and I no longer notice thoughts racing through my mind. I still can worry, and anxious thoughts can come in, but they are reduced and I’m able to let them leave earlier. Even on the days when I smoke A LOT of CBD, I never get high. At higher doses, there’s a deep serenity that allows you to focus on the task at hand. This can feel intoxicating at times, especially when I enter a trace-like state after a day of work. After a few hours, I feel the need for another hit. It’s not an addictive feeling, nor is it distressing. It’s simply a return of the ailment that had me looking in the first place: mental illness.

Information on CBD is sometimes hard to find. However, I have read repeatedly that vaping CBD leads to the most transient results. Now that I’ve vaped my way through 300mg in 6 days, I need to find a more steady source of ingestion. I’m looking for a happy medium, trying to avoid the meditative states while still getting enough to treat my mental health. With the government being of little help in dosing or research, it’s a game of trial and error. It’s a game i’m willing to play, however, as I make strides towards a happy and healthy life.

Oh, and those with PSSD will be happy to hear: early signs for me reiterate online claims that CBD is pro-sexual.

😉

Cheers,

(A psychoactive) Ghost

Leave a comment